Governing Board

School Board Members

The Cabrillo Unified School District School Governing Board is comprised of five school board members who are elected by the local community. The role of the school board is to provide leadership and oversight of the district. The Board ensures that the district is responsive to the values, beliefs, and priorities of the community.

The term of office for school board members elected in regular elections is four years, beginning on the second Friday in December after their election.  The board meets at least once a month at the District Office, 498 Kelly Avenue, Half Moon Bay. Meetings are open to the public and are usually held on Thursday nights at 6 pm.  A portion of the board meeting consists of a "closed" session for the purpose of discussing confidential matters, such as personnel or student issues.

District Board of Trustees:

 Board Member

Term: 2018-2022

 Board Member

Vice President

Term: 2018-2022

 Board Member

Clerk to the Governing Board
Term: 2020-2024

 Board Member

Term: 2020-2024

 Board Member LIZET CORTES
Term: 2018-2022

What does the School Board do?

The Board works with the Superintendent to fulfill its major responsibilities, which includes:

  • Setting the direction for the district

  • Establishing an effective and efficient organizational structure for the district

  • Providing support to the Superintendent and staff

  • Ensuring accountability to the public for the performance of the district's school

  • Providing community leadership and advocacy on behalf of students, the district's educational program, and public education

  • Ensuring that the district is meeting its commitments to parents/guardians, all members of the community, employees, the state of California, laws pertaining to education, and established policies of the district

Governing Board Committees & Assignments

Committees and Assignments

Board Member(s)

San Mateo County Committee on School District Organization

Freya McCamant (Sophia Layne, back-up)

Career Technical Education Advisory Committee

Freya McCamant & Lizet Cortes

City-District (2+2) Committee

Mary Beth Alexander & Freya McCamant

CSBA & Legislative Action Representatives

Kimberly Hines & Sophia Layne

District English Learner Advisory Committee

Lizet Cortes (Sophia Layne, back-up)

Environmental Sustainability Committee

Freya McCamant & Lizet Cortes

Budget Advisory Committee

Mary Beth Alexander & Sophia Layne

Latino Round Table 

Sophia Layne & Lizet Cortes

LGBTQ Round Table

Sophia Layne & Kimberly Hines

Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) Alliance

Mary Beth Alexander & Sophia Layne

San Mateo County School Board Association

Mary Beth Alexander & Sophia Layne

Visual and Performing Arts Committee

Kimberly Hines & Lizet Cortes

Updated: December 15, 2021

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.